So long and thanks for all the fish!

–Megan-Drew

Well, it’s finally here. We have less than 24 hours left in the apartment, and I’m sitting in my room, surrounded by boxes and places to clean. There’s an odd symmetry to this sight, looking so similar to my first day in Oregon Hill. The sun is shining, and the sky is blue. My hair is frizzy with the humidity in the air, and the apartment is practically bare, just waiting to be filled with someone else’s things. On the one hand, I’m sad to be leaving the friends I’ve made, but on the other, I am looking forward to the next adventure in store for me! Grace-on-the-Hill may not have changed the world, but it certainly changed mine. I am so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had here, the chances to grow and the time to learn in such a nurturing environment.

At our closing retreat, we used the Parable of the Sower to shape our conversation. What seeds have we planted, and what has been planted in us? I reflected on the influence one person can have on another, what one idea can do to a community. This program has been such a fertile soil for me, teaching me the value of truly being grounded in place and showing me the importance of discernment in all our actions.

Thank you for everything. I can’t begin to describe how much this year has meant to me!

This entry was posted in Grace-on-the-Hill. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

